Waiting to Hear Back: February 2014

Why do all my dreams extend just around the riverbend?

Waiting is both easy and extremely difficult. I took my phone interview on a Monday and for some odd reason, I spent the rest of that week (referred to as Week 1) on edge, checking my email and skipping throughout my campus humming Frozen songs.

I was so busy during Week 2 that I think I checked my email maybe once. When you are as involved in school, work, and volunteering as I was this year, it’s impossible to have time to do anything for yourself on any day that is not Saturday or Sunday. That worked in my favor during Week 2, which was great because I wasn’t even at my “you’ll hear back between 2-3 weeks” window yet. T

Then Week 3 came along. Remember, I interviewed on a Monday, so exactly 2 weeks later, Monday, was the start of my 2-3 window. I didn’t hear back that particular Monday. A part of me wanted that 2-3 week mark to be magical. But at the same time, every single day that went by still got me (and many, many others) closer to hearing back.

“What if it’s not everything I dreamed it would be?”
“It will be.”
“And what if it is? What do I do then?”
“Well,that’s the good part I guess. You get to go find a new dream.”
-Tangled

